Quotes

Great Quotes


“I was within and without, simultaneously enchanted and repelled by the inexhaustible variety of life.”

Hey guys!

We’re reading The Great Gatsby in English at the moment (I’ve got two chapters left and I’ve lost the book….) and this is one of the quotes. I love it because it’s really quite beautiful and emphasizes how we can be amazed at what life has to offer, but at the same time utterly horrified by what can happen. For me, I think it’s the fault of the human race. We live in a perfectly beautiful planet and if you take some time out to just stop and look around at the nature that keeps us alive, and gave us life… I think we need to respect it a bit more.

That’s really my interpretation of the quote- it doesn’t fit in with the context necessarily of The Great Gatsby, but what I like is how it can relate to more than one thing.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

