films, reviews

Review on… The Fault in Our Stars


Hey guys!

I’ve literally just got back from the EXCLUSIVE FAN SCREENING of The Fault in Our Stars by the wonderful John Green, and I can happily confirm that I did not cry! However, that doesn’t mean you won’t. IT IS VERY SAD. VERY, VERY SAD.

Basically, if you don’t already know, it is the story of cancer patient Hazel Grace Lancaster, who meets and falls in love with Augustus Waters at a cancer support group. They get the opportunity to travel to Amsterdam to meet Peter van Houten, author of Hazel and Augustus’s favourite book An Imperial Affection. 

That’s a really basic outline but I’m guessing the majority of you have read this book, or know about it already so I won’t go into too much detail, as I don’t really want to give away the plot either!

I highly recommend this film, as John Green did in fact help on set, so it doesn’t stray too far from the original story. It’s really funny, and the actors, in my opinion, really suited their roles. I especially loved Nat Wolff’s portrayal of Isaac, Augustus’s friend, as he portrayed the witty, comical side of a person, but also the emotional side of someone in a tough situation. That being said, Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort were both excellent and I’m really proud of myself for not crying.

As far as films go, it was so great to see something that actually stuck to the storyline of the original book. It wasn’t a film that made me cry, but it sure was close. However, even though the topic is something many people try and skirt around, The Fault in Our Stars really portrayed how normal people are, whoever they are. Someone once said to me, “I don’t think people with or without disabilities, or illnesses should be treated the same as everyone else, because we are all unique”, and this film really put across this idea that although these characters are young and suffering, they don’t need to be patronized about the reality of their illnesses- after all, they are the ones living with it. This was such a realistic view on the world, and is an aspect that I think will appeal to the teenage audience. Personally, I’m not a fan of love stories, but The Fault in Our Stars is an exception- it’s got the right amount of humour and heartbreak to make even the hardest people break

I guarantee that most of you will cry. We were sitting in the middle of the back row, and all I could hear from both sides and in front of me were people sniffing and blowing their noses. As I said, it’s really close to the book. Obviously some parts were missed out like in all film adaptions, but it worked so well and you’d be a fool to miss this.

-The Storyteller

TFIOS

Leave a Reply

