opinion, Poems

Spray, Wipe, Tray, Repeat


Spray.
Wipe.
Pick up tray.
Repeat.

The customers,
their views are divided.
To most you’re just a waitress
It’s really all one-sided.

“My plate’s too hot”
“My panini’s burnt black”
“Is this salad? No it’s not”
Consideration is something they lack.

“Complain to the chef”
I want to say.
But instead I smile, sort it out,
And walk away.

Spray.
Wipe.
Pick up tray.
Repeat.

I’m just a waitress
So everybody cares less.
Apparently for me
It’s all about the pay cheque.

But they won’t understand-
I’m on minimum wage!
Still they don’t understand
Why I contain all my rage.

Spray.
Wipe.
Pick up tray.
Repeat.

Spray.
Wipe.
Pick up tray.
Repeat.

Repeat.

Repeat…

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

