Random

Growing Attached


Hey guys!

I’m definitely one of those people who grow attached to things that I know I can’t hold onto forever. For example, I still have about 15+ toys from when I was little which, I’m sure like many people, I don’t have the heart to throw out.

The same goes for a lot of my clothes. I remember I got these brown three-quarter length trousers when I was about 12, and I didn’t like them at first but once I tried them on I loved them, and wore them until I literally couldn’t put them on anymore. They were sooooo comfortable and useful in pretty much all weather conditions. I still find it hard to throw out things, because I tell myself that I might in fact need them in a couple of weeks time but I just don’t know it yet.

My iPod is another example. I have an iPod Nano, and it doesn’t have as much space as the newer iPod’s and eventually I’m probably going to get a new one but I’ve had my iPod since I was about 13 or 14 and it’s been with me through the good times and the bad.

When I get cards from people- it tends to be Birthday cards- I usually keep some of them, until my next birthday. Especially if there is a really great message in there. Recently I finished volunteering for my Duke of Edinburgh Silver Award, and I got a card from the guys I was working with and one of them is a photographer and used one of his photos and it was nice, because there were times and I was just worrying that I was just getting in the way… which I probably was, but it’s over now!

Finally, it sounds weird, but I don’t like throwing away my revision notes and posters etc. I believe there are two possible reasons behind this:

  1. Paper, means trees and recycling and I worry that I’m wasting trees and oxygen and stuff…
  2. I generally put a lot of effort into how my revision looks. My ceiling is at an angle, so I can lie on the floor and look at the revision I’ve done, so when I take it down, it’s all empty and boring again. (Until next year!)

Those were some really weird examples, but that’s just how I roll, apparently.

-The Storyteller

Leave a Reply

