books, reviews

Review on… The Help


Hey guys!

Over the holidays I was given a list of books to read for my A-level English Literature course. The theme is about identity, so I chose to read “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett.

“The Help”, set in 1962, is about three women- Skeeter, Aibleen and Minny, who live in Jackson, Mississippi. Aibleen and Minny are black maids, Skeeter a young, white girl back from college who aspires to be a journalist. However, as these women become involved in a very daring project, secrets are unfolded and an unlikely friendship blossoms.

A friend of mine had read it before me, and said they found it hard to understand the dialect at first, but i thought it wasn’t that bad. it gave the book more character and made it more realistic in a sense. Overall, i had no problems with this book whatsoever. But there was one little thing that bugged me, right at the end. In a way, it ends on a happy note (which i won’t spoil for those who haven’t read it) but when I finished, I felt that I was left with questions left unanswered… however I suppose that because the chapters were written from the character’s point of view, we can’t really know what happens to these things because they don’t know either. I think it represents life, that no one knows how anything will turn out, and it can go in any direction.

So… that’s about it I think.

-South African Nutter

Leave a Reply

