Uncategorized

Childhood Dreams


Hey guys,

You know those people who have their eyes set on a particular job since they were about 6 years old, whether it was to be a singer or a policeman, or even a cat, they will do anything to strive for that goal…. well maybe not the cat one.

I have said before that I want to be an actress, but that hasn’t been a childhood dream of mine. I’ve only been really interested in doing that for about 3 years because before I had any drama lessons at school, I didn’t really think of it as an option and that I wasn’t any good. In fact, I’ve never really wanted to do anything “artsy” until recently, because in my childhood, some of the things I wanted to be included:
A librarian (with long golden hair)
A vet
An Olympic swimmer
A teacher
A surgeon
A marine-biologist
A journalist
An actress

I don’t think I ever wanted to be an animal though. I still don’t mind the idea of being a journalist, because I enjoy writing. But I know for sure that I don’t want to be a surgeon or a marine biologist, because I’m no good at science and the only reason I wanted to be a surgeon was because I didn’t faint or feel sick at the sight of blood, which I am sure is a good thing if you want to be a surgeon, but I don’t have the right skills… yeah, let’s put it that way.

I think the point of this post is that you don’t need to have a childhood dream to aspire to because anything can happen, and you might find something else you love more. I know people who haven’t got the faintest idea on what they want to do when they leave school, but something they enjoy will come along. And yes, having a childhood dream may help you get there but it doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s something you have to worry about, just because everyone else around you seems to have one.

I watched “Australia” last week and there was this quote which said “Just because it is, doesn’t mean it should be.” I really liked that, because it shows that even though everyone else seems to be “on the right track” and you just feel like you need to make up your mind here and now, it doesn’t have to be that way. YOU STILL HAVE TIME! And anyway, I think that it’s better to experience different things before officially deciding on what you want to do because then you can say “Yeah, I’ve done that.” and be proud of yourself. However, if you are decided on your future, then good for you. It means you can work on it and be the best that you can be.

-South African Nutter

Leave a Reply

