reviews

Review on… The Great Gatsby


Hey guys!

I went to see Baz Luhrmann’s interpretation of The Great Gatsby last night, and I thought it was pretty good. In the past, I haven’t been a huge fan of Luhrmann’s work, like Romeo + Juliet for example, although now I’ve watched it a few times I enjoy it more than I did when I first saw it, which was about 3 years ago. Moulin Rouge, however, I am a huge fan of and I saw that quite recently so I was quite excited to see this one.

The Great Gatsby is about a man called Nick, who moves to New York and lives next door to a mysterious man called Jay Gatsby. Gatsby lives in a huge, castle-like mansion and holds parties every weekend for no particular reason it seems to us, as almost the whole of New York turns up and gets drunk. However, as the story unfolds, we learn about Gatsby’s past, his dreams, and who he really is.

This is like one of those love stories, where the guy had the girl, one of them leaves for years, the other gets married, then the other one turns up and it all gets a bit chaotic from there. But, as cliché as that storyline sounds, i really enjoyed this movie. There were lots of laughs, twists and turns which i always enjoy in a movie, and like a lot of Luhrmann’s productions, it was kind of bizarre. I think the only criticism I had with it, was that it was quite long but then i did see it late-ish so i guess it was probably my fault there… But apart from that, i definitely wouldn’t mind watching it again.

-South African Nutter

Leave a Reply

