ramblings

I’m an embarrassment…


Hey guys!

I kind of made a fool of myself in maths today….

I was sitting next to this guy, and he asked me how to do Stem and Leaf diagrams, and I was really tired so I didn’t explain it well at all, so he said:
“You’re not very good at explaining things, are you?”
To which I replied, “I know… and Maths last thing on a Monday isn’t great either….”
And then he said “Janet…. It’s Wednesday.”

I seem to have a lot of these moments, for example, the other day in Geography, I was trying to make sense of a question and I can’t remember what it said exactly, but in our school Geography lessons, we have to use “So what…” statements. So, it will be like:
“The river flooded. So what? So people have to put sand bags by their doors. So what? So the water won’t get in…” Kind of thing.
So, I was sitting there for about 5 minutes staring at this question and wondering what was wrong with it, because it had so what in the middle and it didn’t look right and that word had to go somewhere else and I just didn’t get it. So I asked my friend if it made any sense to her, and when she explained, I felt like an idiot. A lot of these moments happen in geography, because when we were learning about Tropical Rainforests, it took me longer than it should’ve done to realise that they’re “Tropical” Rainforests for a reason. They lie on the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn.

Maybe it’s exam stress… but it doesn’t explain why I’ve had so many of these embarrassing moments. Am I the only one?

-South African Nutter

Leave a Reply

